Biotic : an innovative system

iconeUniversite

“Innovation with Legs”, Conference held at the Sorbonne, April 18th, 2013

The border between science and fiction is blurred, and technology has often times already crossed it. Joel de Rosney understood this when, starting in 1981, he developed the term "biotics" to describe the hybridisation and coevolution of methodologies and techniques used in computer, biological and supramolecular chemical systems.

In his presentation, Joel de Rosnay successfully explained how computers are not simple objects or tools for everyday use. The computer has truly taken on an important role in our surrounding environment. Today the limits between biology and technology have become fuzzy, to the point that they are almost invisible. To a point, additionally, where we can often speak of a true symbiotic state between Man and machine.

These innovative systems, a term that Joel de Rosnay prefers over "innovation", which he considers out of date, already simplifies our daily lives, and continues to evolve. Web 2.0 is about to disappear and Web 5.0 is now on the table, which Joel de Rosnay calls the "symbio-net", a web that increases the interaction between the body and the digital ecosystem within which it exist. This technological evolution promises many surprises...for better or for worst!

La Biotique un système innovant

Conférence à la Sorbonne "Innovation with legs" 18 avril 2013 iconeUniversite

Entre science et fiction, il n'y a parfois qu'un pas que les technologies semblent avoir franchi. Joël de Rosnay l'avait bien compris quand, dès 1981, il crée le terme "biotique" pour décrire l'hybridation et la coévolution des méthodologies et des techniques employées en informatique, biologie et chimie supramoléculaire.  

Dans son intervention, Joël de Rosnay explique avec brio comment l'ordinateur n'est plus simplement un objet, ni même un simple outil, qui se trouve devant nous. Cet ordinateur a véritablement pris sa place dans l'environnement qui nous entoure. Aujourd’hui la frontière entre la biologie et la technologie s'estompe au point de devenir quasiment invisible. A tel point d'ailleurs que l'on peut parfois parler d’un véritable état symbiotique entre l'Homme et la machine.

Ces systèmes innovants, terme que Joël de Rosnay préfère au terme "innovation" qu'il considère comme maintenant dépassé, nous facilitent déjà la vie au quotidien et sont en perpétuelle évolution. Le web 2.0 lui-même est voué à disparaitre et c'est du web 5.0 qu'il est question ici, que Joël de Rosnay appelle le "symbionet", un web qui pousse encore plus loin la communication du corps vers l'écosystème numérique dans lequel nous sommes rentrés. Ces évolutions technologiques nous promettent encore bien des surprises… pour le meilleur et pour le pire !